Gaining Trust with your Email Marketing Campaign

There was once a time when it was fun to walk down your driveway and check your mailbox.  Today, it seems like the only things people get in their mail are bills, advertisements, and maybe the occasional letter from a friend or family member.  There is a trashcan next to the mailboxes in my apartment complex and you can always tell when junk mail was received because the trash can is almost instantly overflowing with messages that were never read.

mail

When looking through my mail, I am filled with excitement when I find personal mail from someone I know.  Just recently, I moved to a new city to start my career.  One of my friends sent me a card in the mail to wish me luck and to let me know that I was going to do a great job.  Her card is still on my fridge and brings a smile to my face every time I see it.

Emails in our inboxes are pretty similar to direct mail in our mailboxes.  I don’t get excited when I receive  a letter from advertising@xyzcorp.com.  In fact, unless xzycorp has gained my trust by sending me content rich emails from a source I can recognize, I will most likely automatically select delete without even reading what the email message says. How can you avoid falling into xyzcorp’s shoes?

From Address

This one is one of the most obvious and easiest things to take care of – but it is also one of the most important.  If you send an email as yourself, you are taking credit for what is being said.  Readers will be more likely to open your email and if they have any questions or comments they can respond as:

Dear Sara:

Vs.

Dear advertising at xyzcorp:

It helps readers feel like they are communicating with an actual person, not a machine that generated a response.  Finally, people will recognize your name overtime and if you send them emails worth reading, they will trust your name and take the time to open your email.     

Mail Merge    

People love seeing their own name.  It makes them feel as though the email was written to them personality and not send to them as recipient number 432.  This is another very simple option that can be directly inserted into your template using Swiftpage Template Editor. 

Content Suggestion  

How can you personalize the content of you message?  Listen to your readers because the people who take time to contact you are the ones who are most likely to pay attention to your email campaigns.  Listen to their emails, to their questions, to their dislikes and to their likes.  After all, if it was not for your loyal customers and readers, you would not be as successful as you are today.  Help build your products with your customers input and they will understand that you appreciate them and will stay loyal to you.

Avoid being too formal

Try to keep your emails casual when you are sending them out to your client base.  When using formal language, it could come off as though you think of yourself and your products as more sophisticated than your readers.  People don’t like to feel like they are being talked down to.  Just treat your readers as equals.  Write your message as if you were explaining something to a good friend of yours.  Don’t completely try to put on an act or your readers will see right through it.

Image Credit: Uzvards

2 Responses to “Gaining Trust with your Email Marketing Campaign”

  1. Hello. Thank you for this great info! Keep up the good job!

  2. You cannot believe how long ive been looking for something like this. Browsed through 10 pages of Yahoo results without finding anything. One search on Bing. There this is…. Really gotta start using that more often

    Thanks
    Md.Alamin Khan

Leave a Reply

