Know Your Audience

My role here at Swiftpage is the Social Media and Content Coordinator.  I spend time every day on our Twitter account, @swiftpage.  The majority of my posts are related to email marketing either linking back to the Swiftpage Website or to various other useful articles written by experts in email marketing. 

 The other day I received the following tweet:

 @swiftpage Do you need an email marketing service?  I recommend iContact.  Obama uses it!

 No, I don’t need an email marketing service.  This is the twitter account for an email marketing service.  Thank you for taking the time to reach out to me, but next time please at least click on my account to see what I am about.

Of course, the person sending me the tweet was probably spam of some sort.  I clicked on the profile and it contained over 2,000 of the same tweets and only about 5 followers.  Something is definitely up.

 The point of all this is it is important to know your audience. audience I recently read a blog post about how a designer and copywriter received an email asking if they needed any help with design on for their webpage.  Same thing.  Pay attention to who you are marketing to.  Don’t ask someone if they need help with something they already specialize in.

 In fact, if you really want to impress your customers, I would suggest taking it a step further.  Before you send your email campaign, make your email as personal as possible.  Add a little section that says something about who you are.  Invite your customers to get to know you as a person and to also share a little about themselves.  In the email, also include a short optional survey to find out what matters most to your customers.  Take this opportunity to get to know them and create connections that matter.

Image Credit: Willem van Bergen

One Response to “Know Your Audience”

  1. Definitely agree that one must know their audience. That’s why politicians poll their audience. Still, they miss the mark. I sign up for various newsletters and email campaigns just to see what kind of content I’ll get. The political ones are the worse. They assume so much and there’s very little engagement. The only time they want my participation is to tell a friend, attend an event, or give some money. They never ask me for my input. Do I sound too whiny? If so, I’m in good company.

    Look at the recent town halls! The people are not going to accept a simple press release or statement given with no time for follow up questions. It’s just not enough to talk “at”, politicians must talk “with”. Facebook, Twitter, independent blogs, these are town hall forums. One side may have a bigger mic but all have the opportunity to be heard. When there are blogs, such as White House’s own, that don’t allow comments, it shows fear. At the very least the site should allow comments with moderation ability. But no comments at all? Why even call it a blog? Have you seen Palin’s facebook posts? They result in thousands of comments. Thousands of comments and she seems okay with that. Huge. Most don’t have the kind of social media guts it takes to allow people comment and weigh in on your brand and message. Then again, really, what could be said about Palin now that hasn’t been said? Perhaps the early criticisms have empowered her to use social media to its full effectiveness. The key word being “social”.

Leave a Reply

