Build Your Email List – The Right Way

There are a number of ways you can build your email list for your monthly or weekly newsletter.  A couple examples are as follows:

–          Have a sign up now option on every page of your website

–          Advertise it on the back of your business cards

–          Mention your best articles through social media outlets

–          Make sharing of your newsletter easy for your readers using a “Tweet This” button along with a Forward to a Friend option

–          Produce valuable content and you will steadily gain readers over time

However, in this post – it is time to focus on how not to gain email addresses.  Currently, I am looking for someone to take over the rent for my apartment.  Of course, the first resource I turned to is craigslist.  As anyone who has used craigslist would know, it is a very convenient, free tool that will bring you responses.  However, you have to be careful with the responses you will receive.  That comes along with working and making deals with complete strangers over the internet. 

For my craigslist post, I chose not to display my email address simply because I did not like the fact of my personal email being available for anyone on the internet.  Yet, still I was contacted by an unwelcomed sender.  The email is basically as follows, I changed a couple things around for privacy reasons:

Hi, its Katie here

I am emailing this out to everyone in my sales contact list as i am sure this is something you may find usefull.

 I will keep this short

Heres the webpage

 http://www……..

You dont want to miss this one

Best of luck

 denver sales and services 

Major red flags:

  1. Whenever someone responds to the information provided to craigslist, it lets you know that it is simply a response to your ad.  I was expecting to get an email from an interested renter, not someone trying to get me to sign up for something.
  2. The Email explained that I was part of her sales contact list.  I never signed up for anything to be part of her list, and she didn’t even have my real email address.
  3. The way the email was written was interesting.  Come on, you can’t even capitalize the letter “I”?
  4. The email is signed best of luck, denver sales and services.  Who the heck is Denver sales and services – and once again with the capitalizing!
  5. I clicked on the website just to see what this Katie wanted me to look at.  She wanted my credit card information – BIG red flag. 

Please don’t participate in spam-like actions such as the email above.  Gain loyal followers over time and the results will pay off in the long run. I guarantee the recipients who actually signed up for your email list will be more interested then the people who never provided you with their email.

One Response to “Build Your Email List – The Right Way”

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

