6 Reasons I Love Drip Marketing | Part 1 of 2

DMCC-Expert-Blog-PostThere are numerous reasons to love Drip Marketing as you will soon see. In the following two part series I will be sharing my top six and at the end you will hopefully have a “light bulb” moment and fall in love yourself.

First I’d like to start off with a simple definition – Pursuing someone until they catch you. I can’t think of a better definition of drip marketing than that.

The strategy behind a good drip is to be so compelling, helpful, informative, and entertaining, that your future customers take a few minutes from their day to let some of your wisdom soak in.

Then when they’re ready, you’re the one they remember.

Contrast that with the 3 second-rule where your reader, inundated with TMI (too much information), unconsciously presses the delete key because your words weren’t even worthy of a synapse firing. OUCH.

So here are 6 reasons why I love drip marketing and why it pays to do it right.

  1. New revenue always finds me. A few years ago a long-time client who averaged about $300 a year in business with me, invited me to speak at a national conference as a result of one of my drip marketing messages. At the end of that event, I was offered a six-figure contract which I hadn’t even known was an opportunity for me. This unlikely event, while making me feel like I won the lottery, was more significant for another, more repeatable reason: my client didn’t know I offered that service, and I didn’t know he needed this service. Without my drip marketing campaign–and specifically that one message–we never would have connected on this amazing project.
  2. I am the “go-to gal” for drip marketing. The top three referring keyword searches to my website are “ACT diva,” “Aviva diva,” and “database diva.” Many times people don’t remember the name of my company. But they do remember I am known as “The Database Diva.” They wouldn’t even remember “diva” if I weren’t reminding them all the time.
  3. No need to hard sell. Because I keep in touch regularly, my online marketing can inform and entertain without having to push product. My customers are very smart. They know when they’re ready to buy. They don’t need me to keep hounding them like a broken record, “Are you ready yet? Are you ready yet? Are you ready yet?” But if I provide ongoing value to them in between orders (without the hard sell), it seems to them like I’m always in the right place at the right time—and they do appreciate that.

    to be continued…

    Post Contributed by Lori Feldman, Database Diva of Aviva

About Dan Ogdon

Dan has been with Swiftpage since 2006 and has a passion for delivering solutions to companies that increase the value of their product offerings. Dan is an avid fly fisherman and spends any time he can with his growing family.

2 Responses to “6 Reasons I Love Drip Marketing | Part 1 of 2”

  1. Good work / good writing as usual.
    You never ever get a delete here!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 6 Reasons I Love Drip Marketing | Part 2 of 2 « Swiftpage's Blog - October 28, 2009

    […] Swiftpage's Blog « 6 Reasons I Love Drip Marketing | Part 1 of 2 […]

Leave a Reply

