I Heart Swiftpage

Email Subject Lines: We ♥ Symbols

Zulily Loves Pinterest iPhoneYou may have noticed a growing trend of using symbols such as ♥ and ★ and ☺in email subject lines. I was drawn to an email from Zulily in my inbox last week for a couple of reasons. Their subject line read: We ♥ Pinterest. Now I happen to ♥ Pinterest too, but that is another, much longer, story. I was drawn to the subject line because of its simplicity and their creative use of the ♥ symbol. On my iPhone the ♥ appeared as a colored 3D symbol which made it stand out even more in my mobile inbox.

I wanted to see if the symbols would work with Swiftpage, so I ran a few tests and had great success! Here are the steps I followed:

  1. Found the symbol(s) I wanted to use here.
  2. Copied the symbol, NOT the unicode or HTML code.
  3. Pasted the symbol into my subject line in Swiftpage.
  4. Clicked send! (See the result in my inbox above)

I would recommend using symbols sparingly and only when they fit with the theme your email blast. I would also recommend extensive testing to make sure your emails arrive in and that the symbols show across email clients. The email that Zulily sent is a perfect example of when symbols work.

Have you tried using symbols in your subject lines? How did it go? If you have a great example send it to us at ahowes@swiftpage.com. We look forward to seeing it.

About Audrey Howes

Audrey has been an active member of the Swiftpage team since September 2009. Audrey manages Social Media and special projects with her marketing know-how and design expertise. When she’s not working you are likely to find her enjoying time with her family in the mountains near Steamboat, going for a run, reading a good book, being goofy with her kids, or savoring a latte in a local coffee shop.

9 Responses to “Email Subject Lines: We ♥ Symbols”

  1. Thanks for the article. I understand the basic icons and how to include those, but do you have any idea on how Zulily, and others I have seen, get the heart to be colored while rendering at least in the iPhone inbox?

    • Matt – iPhones default to showing certain symbols in color. In the example I gave, the heart would show up in color on an iPhone. Try it and let me know how it goes!

  2. Very nice article.I didn’t know that using these symbols is actually so easy. I agree to your point that symbols should be used only when it fits the best. Great post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trend to Try: Symbols in Email Subject Lines | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - August 8, 2012

    […] in email subject lines have been popping up more and more over the past view weeks. We wrote about them a while ago and since then they seem to have become the next big thing in email. Our staff has mixed reviews […]

  2. FAQ Friday: How do I add symbols or characters to my email subject lines? | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - October 26, 2012

    […] we first wrote about symbols in email subject lines here and here, the trend is still popular but seems to be have slowed down some. For example, Groupon […]

  3. Symbols ↑ Open Rates & We Can Prove It | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - December 4, 2012

    […] While there seems to be an infinite number of ways to use symbols in subject lines, it is important that you use them sparingly and with intention. We also recommend testing your subject lines before sending because not all symbols work in every email client. You can learn more about how to use symbols in your subject lines here. […]

  4. FAQ Friday: How do I add symbols or characters to my email subject lines? | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - April 5, 2013

    […] we first wrote about symbols in email subject lines here and here, the trend is still popular but seems to have slowed down some. For example, Groupon used […]

Leave a Reply

