When Subject Lines Don’t Match Email Marketing Breaks Down

I recently received an email from 24 Hour Fitness with the subject: Join us June 30th for a SPECIAL BODYPUMP event. Now, let me say that I love my gym and Bodypump happens to be one of my favorite classes, therefore I opened the email. Below is what I saw. Do you see ANY information about a June 30th event? Go ahead, take a peek. No? Well, neither did I. 24 Hour Fitness had me at the subject line and lost me at the open. I genuinely wanted to find out more about my favorite class, but I was unable to see any correlation between the subject line and the email. The call to action (find a class today) doesn’t even drive me to more information about said event.

Don’t make the same mistake as 24 Hour Fitness did in this example. While it is not enough of a mistake to make me leave and find a new gym, I was bummed that I wasn’t able to learn more about the event. Some of us wouldn’t be lucky enough to retain customers with a similar email marketing mistake. ALWAYS make sure your subject line connects with your email’s message and call to action… ALWAYS!

About Audrey Howes

Audrey has been an active member of the Swiftpage team since September 2009. Audrey manages Social Media and special projects with her marketing know-how and design expertise. When she’s not working you are likely to find her enjoying time with her family in the mountains near Steamboat, going for a run, reading a good book, being goofy with her kids, or savoring a latte in a local coffee shop.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Email Prospecting Mistakes That Cost You Money | Coachtactics - July 17, 2012

    […] When Subject Lines Don’t Match Email Marketing Breaks Down (swiftpage.com) […]

Leave a Reply

