Stale Email Marketing? Send Something Unexpected

As you can imagine, as email marketers, we are subscribed to A LOT of newsletters and promotional emails. Each week an email from GAP is among the barrage to arrive in my inbox. I would say I typically open 1 out of every 4 or 5 emails they send. A few weeks ago I was surprised when I received a D.I.Y (or should I say T.I.Y) tutorial from GAP instead of their typical promotional email. Let me confess: I am a closet crafter and D.I.Yer and was intrigued by their concept and the craft project. More than that, as an email marketer, I was impressed at the move GAP made to step outside of their normal email boundaries and try something new. The result: I have opened more GAP emails since the T.I.Y. email arrived and I would guess other recipients have too.

So how can you step beyond your norm and surprise your email audience with the unexpected? If you try it, let us know! We’d love to hear about your results.

Here’s the email from GAP:

Turn Your Favorite T into a Fresh Beach Tote! It’s T.I.Y. Time!

P.S. If you have time to try GAP’s tutorial, send us a pic.

About Audrey Howes

Audrey has been an active member of the Swiftpage team since September 2009. Audrey manages Social Media and special projects with her marketing know-how and design expertise. When she’s not working you are likely to find her enjoying time with her family in the mountains near Steamboat, going for a run, reading a good book, being goofy with her kids, or savoring a latte in a local coffee shop.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get Inspired: Collection of Our Favorite Email Design Posts | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - August 2, 2012

    […] Stale Email Marketing? Send Something Unexpected  […]

Leave a Reply

