Swiftie’s List of Must Have Apps – What Tops Your List?

As you can imagine, we here are a techy bunch. Most of us have joined the smart phone revolution and are self-professed app addicts. This week I asked our team to share their favorite apps with you and here is what they had to say:

Dan Ogdon:
Foursquare – Love the gaming aspects of it
Fitness Pal – Make sure I fit into my pants
Penultimate – iPad, no more lost notes

Lindsey Weinig:
I love Instagram, Zillow and Pandora.
I love messing around with photos on Instagram as well as seeing my friends pics.
Zillow is great because if I drive by a house for sale I can just pull it up and see the price, photos and specs instantly.
Pandora is still my favorite way to stream music and works great on road trips so long as you have cell service.

Adam Preeo:
Instagram – simple photo sharing with effects, so nice.
Nike+ running app – tracks your runs, motivates you, and has a slick UI.
Foursquare – gotta check in! (see Adam’s post about Foursquare for more)
Groupon – always a deal to be had.
Daily Audio Bible – hear the whole bible by listening 15 minutes a day for a year
RedLaser – always scanning bar codes for price comparisons and promotions
Spotify – music subscription, all the music you could want, in the cloud
PBS app – I have a 3-year-old
USA Today – easy to read news app

Rowan Koons:
Yelp, Strava (for biking) and Instagram.

Crista Solano:
Social Media and news apps —
Without being “in the know” I feel disconnected. So most days I look at a quick run-down on Twitter and then occasionally catch up on other direct sites such as 9News, Entertainment News such as PerezHilton, and Denver Post.

Matt Showalter:
My Fitness Pal – helped me lose 35 lbs
FourSquare – helped me gain 10 lbs back

Jeff Johnson:
Fav app is Yelp because it recommends things to do, how to get there and customer review of said sites.

Amber Fehr:
ISamJackson…..because it is hilarious.

Mike Ogdon:
Instagram and LinkedIn.  Religious about both.

Audrey Howes:
MapMyRun:
Tells me mileage, pace, and total distance while I am running. If only she’d tell me to ‘pick up the pace!’
HootSuite: Manage tweets on the go.
Pinterest: Borderline obsessed with pinning before bed.
iHeartRadio: Stream live radio or make my own stations.
ALD Mobile: My library on my phone. Reserve books, pay fines, renew, etc. Makes me so happy… and a little geeky.
MeeGenius: Stories read out lout for kids. (I have a 3 year old who LOVES this app!)

Missy Bergen:
Evernote (Premium version) – Evernote is the ultimate power tool that synchs across your devices. Users can create unique Stacks that include multiple Notebooks that house individual Notes (with or without tags). Everything is searchable by keywords –blazing fast– including not only text but images, handwritten notes and PDFs as well.
Dropbox – Syncing files with my phone, desktop and web browser is SO easy and convenient to access myself, as well as share files with other people.
Spotify and Pandora – Music anywhere, commercial-free. Premium versions for either are recommended (especially Spotify). Pandora is more of a music station if you want to discover new artists and songs, and gets to be really tailored if you “train” your station by liking or disliking songs. With Spotify you can listen to virtually any song you want to instantly.
PhotoForge2 – Everyone takes pictures on their phone and wants to share through text, Facebook, Instagram, Flickr and Email. There are photo-editing apps out there but this is by far the most robust and user-friendly photo-editing app that I’ve found. Bonus: when you’re done editing a photo you can upload directly to your photo albums, Facebook, FTP, Email, Twiter, Flickr, Picasa, Instagram, Dropbox, make a postcard… (do I really need to go on?).
Pixlromatic – If you are looking for some filters to use on your photos that you just edited from PhotoForge2, download this app and pay the .99 cents for the additional plethora of filters. Then upload to your favorite photo-sharing site.

Kassi Johnson:
Exchange Email (app called Touchdown)
Pandora
Scramble with Friends
Words with Friends
Bank of America
Instagram
Facebook
Acu Weather
Alarm
Flashlight

What about you? What makes your list of Must Have Apps?

About Audrey Howes

Audrey has been an active member of the Swiftpage team since September 2009. Audrey manages Social Media and special projects with her marketing know-how and design expertise. When she’s not working you are likely to find her enjoying time with her family in the mountains near Steamboat, going for a run, reading a good book, being goofy with her kids, or savoring a latte in a local coffee shop.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

