FAQ Friday: Should I create a schedule for my email campaign?

Consistency in email marketing is key. When you send emails without a schedule, you can easily confuse your recipients and even upset them. Our brains become used to receiving certain emails at certain times of the month or week from the companies we follow. For example, I know I will always have a LivingSocial email in my inbox as soon as I wake up whereas I receive an email from MarketingProfs only once a week. If I get one from them out of the schedule I get a little confused.

Here are a few suggestions to get your email campaigns on track:

  • Sit down with your team and create an email marketing schedule. Add your send dates to your calendars to make sure everyone knows when emails are going out.
  • Send an email with a link to a survey asking your readers to tell you how often they’d like to receive emails from you. Respond to their requests by segmenting them into groups based on their preferences. Keep the survey on your sign-up page to track the preferences of new subscribers.
  • Pick a regular interval such as weekly or monthly and stick with it.
  • If you haven’t been sending emails, start somewhere and gradually increase your sending. Communicate your plans with your contacts so they know what to expect from you, then deliver on your promises.

What other suggestions would you add to the list? What schedule works best for your audience?

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Audrey Howes

Audrey has been an active member of the Swiftpage team since September 2009. Audrey manages Social Media and special projects with her marketing know-how and design expertise. When she’s not working you are likely to find her enjoying time with her family in the mountains near Steamboat, going for a run, reading a good book, being goofy with her kids, or savoring a latte in a local coffee shop.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marketing Moment: Email Marketing Still Works if You Do it Right | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - July 8, 2013

    […] FAQ Friday: Should I create a schedule for my email campaign? […]

  2. FAQ Friday: Have the Swiftpage Support challenges been resolved? | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - July 12, 2013

    […] FAQ Friday: Should I create a schedule for my email campaign? […]

  3. Marketing Moment: A Little Something to Make them Smile | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - July 22, 2013

    […] FAQ Friday: Should I create a schedule for my email campaign? […]

  4. Top 10 Reasons to Integrate Your Email Marketing with Your CRM | Swiftpage Marketing Blog - August 1, 2013

    […] FAQ Friday: Should I create a schedule for my email campaign? […]

Leave a Reply

